ARGOED COMMUNITY COUNCIL Gwyn L. James, Clerk and RFO 4 Blorenge View, Llanfoist Abergavenny, NP7 9YB 07904 058935 www.argoedcommunitycouncil.org.uk argoedcc@live.co.uk

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Argoed Community Council held on 20th May 2024 in Markham Miners' Welfare.

- 2545 To sign the register and receive apologies
- 2545.1 Community Councillors present:- Andy Bould, Garry Lewis, John Mullens, Mary Parkes, Ellis Porter, Emma Williams and Walter Williams
- 2545.2 Apologies were received from Kath Naylor.
- 2546 The minutes of the AGM held on 15th May 2023 were **agreed**.
- 2547 Chairman's Report
- 2547.1 Cllr John Mullen spoke of the Council's continuing support for Markham Primary School. He said that he had visited and donated to many voluntary organisations in his capacity as Chairman. He closed by thanking the Clerk for his years of service to the Community Council.

 Cllr Garry Lewis congratulated the outgoing Chairman on his year of office.
- 2548 To elect a Chairman for the year 2024/25
- 2548.1 It was **agreed** that Cllr. Mary Parkes would be the Chairman for the forthcoming year.
- 2549 To elect a Vice Chairman for the year 2024/25
- 2549.1 It was **agreed**, by a vote of 4 votes to 3, that Cllr. Emma Williams would be the Vice Chairman for the forthcoming year.
- The declaration of acceptance of the office of Chairman of the Council was signed by Cllr. Mary Parkes and witnessed by the Clerk.
- 2551 To elect representatives to serve on the following committees:-
- 2551.1 Caerphilly County Borough Council and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee Councillor John Mullen together with the Clerk
- 2551.2 Markham Primary School Cllr. Garry Lewis
- 2551.3 Argoed Village Hall Cllr. Garry Lewis
- 2551.4 Markham Community House and Leisure Centre Cllr. Mary Parkes
- 2551.5 Access Forum Cllr. Walter Williams
- 2552 To agree the Chairman's Allowance for 2024/25 in pursuance of the Local Government Act 1972 **it was agreed** that the Chairman's Allowance be set at £400 for the forthcoming year.

Signed......Chairman of Argoed Community Council